Expert Committee on Tax Simplification

Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance, Government of India

Government Sets-Up A Committee to Simplify The Provisions of The Income Tax Act, The Government of India has constituted a Committee with a view to simplify the provisions of the Income Tax Act, 1961, vide Notification dated - 27-October-2015 18:28 IST with the following composition:

Justice R.V. Easwar (Retd.)

Committee Chairman

Former Judge, Delhi High Court and former President, ITAT

Shri V.K. Bhasin

Committee Member

Former Law Secretary

Shri Vinod Jain

Committee Member

Chartered Accountant

Shri Rajiv Memani

Committee Member


Dr. Ravi Gupta

Committee Member


Shri Mukesh Patel

Committee Member


Shri Ajay Bahl

Committee Member


Shri Pradip P. Shah

Committee Member

Investment Adviser

Shri Arbind Modi

Committee Member

IRS (IT:81009)

Dr. Vinay Kumar Singh

Committee Member

IRS (IT:95006)

The Terms of Reference (ToR) of the Committee shall be as follows

i)  To study and identify the provisions/phrases in the Act which are leading to litigation due to different interpretations

ii)  To study and identify the provisions which are impacting the ease of doing business

iii)  To study and identify the areas and provisions of the Act for simplification in the light of the existing jurisprudence;

iv)  To suggest alternatives and modifications to the existing provisions and areas so identified to bring about predictability and certainty in tax laws without substantial impact on the tax base and revenue collection


The Committee shall set its own procedures for regulating its work. The Committee can also work in Sub-Groups and the draft prepared by the Sub-Groups can then be approved by the whole Committee. The Committee will put its draft recommendations in the public domain. After stakeholder consultations, the Committee will formalise its recommendations. The Committee can give its recommendations in batches. The First Batch containing as many recommendations as possible shall be submitted by 31st January, 2016.

The Term of the Committee shall be for a period of one year from the date of its constitution.


The committee has come out with the first phase of its report which has been hosted on this website for comments.

View Report

Download Report

The Committee invites Comments/Views of all stakeholders on the draft report of this site. The comments views may be sent by e-mail to or by Post to Room no 1604, 16th Floor, Block E-2, Pratyaksha Kar Bhavan, Dr. SPM Civic Centre, Jawaharlal Nehru Marg, New Delhi - 110092 The Comments/Views should reach the committee not later than 23rd January, 2016